Truth on Tuesdays

Out of the Wilderness

Goodness it has been too long since I’ve written anything here!  I wish I could say this is the only place I removed myself from but that wouldn’t be true.  You see, I’ve been inside of a season of discouragement.  While there were many real reasons for this discouragement the only one that really means anything is this: the majority of the time I found myself only looking at my circumstances.  The things that kept happening, consumed by my feelings…and not often enough was I looking at God.  I was still reading my Bible.  I was still praying.  I was still attending church.  I still believed in God…I just magnified my circumstances instead of His goodness.

But now…

Now something new is happening.

As the lady at church said on Saturday, I have been in a wilderness.  Surrounded by barrenness and desolation.  But I am coming up out of this wilderness, leaning on my God.  I will be alive again.

God has been nothing but gracious to me, nothing but faithful.  Even when I took my eyes off of Him and looked at the turbulent waves all around me, He called my name, grabbed my hand, and saved me again and again and again.  Over and over He has proven trustworthy, even though I don’t deserve any of His goodness.

My circumstances have not changed (although I know God is working out things in ways I can’t see fully just yet) but my focus has changed.

‘You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!’

Isaiah 26:3 NLT

So dear brothers and sisters in Christ, if you have found yourself inside a wilderness, I proclaim that even as you are reading this you will begin to feel a stirring in your spirit, a strength welling up within you. And that in Jesus’ name you will rise up, look to God who is so full of everything you’ll ever need, and begin walking out of that desolate, discouraging place, leaning on our faithful Father. That you will begin to feel His loving light on your face, and His life within your bones once again.

I am greatly looking forward to sharing more of what God has been speaking to my heart but for now I will leave you with this:

“Faithful even when I wonder
You are patient, you are kind.”

Never See The End- Amanda Cook

With so much love in Christ,

-Kim

Leave a Reply

