Truth on Tuesdays

Never Apologize For Truth

We should never apologize for the Word of God.

“…I’m sorry but the Word of God says…”

I hear this…I think I may have even done this before and recently God highlighted it for me.  He said stop presenting the truth in an apologetic way. 

It’s almost like we are trying to ‘cushion the blow’ as it were…like we are about to punch what you believe with the truth so let me first say “sorry”…cuz this might hurt.

We shouldn’t do this…we don’t need to do this.  We can simply say, “I do not agree because the Word says this…and I’m not sorry about that.” 

That’s not to say that we don’t need to apologize for how the Word of God has been used to hurt people…and oppress people.   The Word is to be used to bring healing and freedom and yes, correction, but it is to be spoken in love.  So where that has not happened…yes…apologize for that.

But never apologize for Truth.

“And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  John 8:32 NIV

“Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth. Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church.”
Ephesians 4:14‭-‬15 NLT
image
**I’m not certain who Shane Claiborne is but I do like quote**

Leave a Reply

