Uncategorized

Be Careful Little Tongue What You Say…

“Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.”  -Proverbs 21:23

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits” -Proverbs 18:21

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”  -Ephesians 4:29

I could make a pretttty long list of verses related to watching what comes out yo mouth…mayyyyybe the Holy Spirit has some kinda idea that words hold all kinds of power…after all, doesn’t He use words to guide, encourage, and give us life?!

“I don’t wanna say a word unless it points the world back to you.” – ‘Words’ Hawk Nelson

What is our essential purpose?  To share the gospel message of faith, hope, and love THROUGH Jesus!  So we need to make sure that in all that we do we are directing people to Jesus.  Especially the words we use and HOW WE USE THEM.

This is totally not always easy, this controlling your tongue thing.  I have plenty of my own struggles with controlling what I say and thankfully I have my husband to help keep me making sure I’m speaking life-giving words.  I’ll be the first to say that when I’m inside frustration or anger or pain there are not always good things wanting to come out of my mouth BUT I have noticed that as I am continually transforming my mind through the reading of God’s word, MY WORDS are also being transformed!

Think about this.  How many wounds can you relate back to something negative someone said to you.  In contrast, how many times can you count where just a couple positive words totally turned your rainy day to sunshine?

Challenge time!  I challenge US (myself included) to examine and ask ourselves, are my words life-giving or life-taking?  Annnnd don’t stop there!  Read more about what God has to say about our words, pray about how you can use them to uplift and encourage others, and PRACTICE it!  I can say as a person who used to intentionally use her words to hurt people, I am SOSOSO much happier using my words for good rather than evil.  Hallelujah and thank you Jesus for transforming me!  I am so glad I am not who I used to be! 🙂

My encouragement to you is that practice helps!  Take some time over the next couple days and try it out!  Encourage your friends, compliment your family, say something nice to that co-worker you usually don’t talk to.  You never know the difference you may make with that one bit of encouragement.  In a world so consumed with darkness and discouragement we can and NEED to be reflectors of the light and voices of hope and encouragement!  

“Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!” -Psalm 141:3

Be blessed and encouraged that we don’t have to rely on our own strength to overcome these challenges! 

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”   -2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Jesus loves ya’ll 😄

Leave a Reply

