Uncategorized

God WANTS to

I’ve been reflecting on my prayer life lately, and I’ve discovered my biggest struggle with prayer, is understanding how God would want to hear MY requests. Basically I think, why would God even consider my prayers let alone want to answer them when there are so many BIGGER, MORE IMPORTANT prayers to be answered. How does my request not seem selfish or foolish compared to someone who is being persecuted for believing in God or someone who is battling a severe illness? I always feel as though on God’s huuuuuge prayer request list my needs are absolutely bottom tier needs compared to others. I can pray all day for other people but when it comes to specifically asking for myself, I have a lot of trouble.

There are a couple flaws in this thinking.

First, this type of thinking is actually limiting God. As if God can’t work in my life as well as the others who are seeking him. I feel a bit ashamed actually thinking that my not asking something would “lighten God’s load” in a way that he could focus on “bigger” requests. He is GOD! He doesn’t need me to look out for him I need him to look out for me even in the smallest detail of my life!!! Really though, thinking that God can’t do something is ludicrous! He is the CREATOR OF THE UNIVERSE!! He is so incredible our human brains can’t even begin to comprehend all his glory, and yet I have been thinking I can’t ask for things because he has bigger things to attend to. AS IF he couldn’t do it all. He CAN and he DOES!

Secondly, I am COMPARING myself to others. Which is a whole other box that I’m just gonna open a little bit at this moment. “Comparison is the thief of joy”, right?! I have to say this to myself on the daily it seems, but it’s so true though! How often do we get discouraged simply because we’ve compared ourselves to someone around us?! I KNOW the devil uses this to discourage us and in my prayer life I’ve allowed him to use it to limit me relying on God. Think about it, if I feel like I can’t ask God for even the smallest of things how am I going to learn and practice to trust and ask for anything?

A couple weeks ago at church one of the pastors said something to the effect of how everything in our life that keeps us from God, every hurt that we’ve endured, every misconception has a lie attached to it that we’ve allowed ourselves to believe. This just spoke VOLUMES to my heart! Seriously how true is that?! His challenge then was how do we break free from these lies? We speak TRUTH over them and Gods word is the TRUTH.

SO…here are some of my favorite truths about prayer.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. -Philippians 4:6-7

The LORD is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth. -Psalm 145:18

And this is the confidence which we have before Him, that, if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests which we have asked from Him. -1 John 5:14-15

Prayer is beautiful. The fact that I can come to such a big, awesome, powerful God with my problems and he WANTS to hear about it all and he WANTS to give me the desires of my heart just leaves me breathless. It doesn’t really matter that my human mind can’t understand why a God so big is interested in a me that is so small, what matters is that the word of GOD SAYS HE IS! And THAT is truth.

“Here’s my heart Lord, speak what is true”.

Leave a Reply

