Uncategorized

Who Is Your Provider?

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. -Philippians 4:19

I’ve been on my own and providing for myself for awhile now. I developed the common mentality that I had to make things happen for myself and that I only had myself to rely on at a young age. There are wayyyy to many “I” and “myself” words up there. This type of singular thinking leads to undesirable stress and anxiety.

“Holy cow, I’m not making enough to support myself” (that stressful little thought led to me having not two jobs but THREE jobs at one point).

“If I don’t do this it will never happen/be fixed/get taken care of for me”. I take EVERYTHING in my life (financial issues, relational issues, other people’s issues, future plans and desires) on my OWN shoulders now without even realizing that I’m doing it.

God doesn’t want us to be stressed out and anxious all the time! God wants to take those burdens off our shoulders and TAKE CARE OF US!

If we TRUST in his provision he will PROVIDE for us!

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. -Proverbs 3:5

I’ve been praying that God show me how to be even closer to him because I can feel something keeping me from that ultimate closeness. Last night he told me I need to trust him more. I need to hand all of the stuff over to him that I try to fix, handle, balance on my own. Now, I really thought that I’d been doing that or that I’d at least made huge progress in the area. But in that moment that God spoke to me He showed me the things I still need to let go of, and this “I’m the only one who is taking care of me” mentality that needs to be broken.

I need to totally shift my thinking! I didn’t get myself this new job, GOD blessed me with this new job. Now I need to be good steward with what he has given me and TRUST that he will continue to provide for me like he has my entire life. Honestly, I felt absolutely ashamed at how proud it sounds to be like “I take care of myself”. It’s like giving God zero credit when he deserves ALL the credit and praise!

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6, 7 NLT)

When we are thankful for what God has done for us, pray about our concerns, and TELL him what we need THEN we experience His peace, and inside of that peace is PROTECTION.

Send some praises and thank you’s up to God today! Then TALK to him about what you need! Pray for provision and TRUST that he will provide! It may not always be in the way that you thought it would be BUT it will be provided for in His way according to His will, which is the most perfect always.

God,
I just want to thank you for always taking care of me even when I may have been thinking that I’ve done it all on my own. You’ve always been there looking out for me, and I see that now more clearly than ever! I ask that you teach me how to trust you even MORE with ALL aspects of my life. I praise you for bringing healing to my heart and for opening my eyes even more to your will for me last night! I desire to be even closer to you! Please continue to reveal these things to me God so that I can draw closer to you.
In Jesus’ beautiful name,
Amen

Leave a Reply

