Uncategorized

Drop The Defense!

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

“The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. 8 The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-8

Seriously, how many times in the Bible are we told that God’s gonna protect us?  Sooooo many, right??  I could pull verse after verse from Old and New Testament that talk about how God protects His children.

I can be a very defensive human.  Until recently I had sooooo many walls up around myself.  I was CONSTANTLY working to protect myself from being hurt by others.  So defensive that it was really stinkin hard to even enjoy relationships because I was always dis-trusting, and distancing myself from anyone who tried to get close.  Looking back I see why I was exhausted all the time.  I mean it’s hard work to constantly be on the defense!  The only thing that I accomplished from being this way, was to completely alienate myself from my friends and family.  I pushed them away by not trusting anyone.  I thought that if I trusted no one, I couldn’t ever be hurt.

Well, that is absolutely a lie from the Devil.  He wants us to be alone.  He wants us to be broken and closed off.  He wants us to be FEARFUL of everything.

That’s where this defensive attitude comes from.  FEAR.  We’re afraid of being hurt by people, by situations.  I was TERRIFIED of being hurt again.

The thing is, we don’t have to protect ourselves.  We don’t have to put up all these walls around us to keep from being hurt.  God wants to do all of that FOR YOU!  He is the protector!

“The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen”  2 Timothy 4:18

Now I’m NOT in any way saying we should just live carelessly because God promises to protect us.  In fact, we are to “Guard [our] heart[s] above all else, for it determines the course of [our] lives” (Proverbs 4:23).  I’m also not saying that no one will ever hurt you, or sin against you.  What I am saying is that if we are trusting GOD with all our hearts and following His will for our lives He will protect us from the things we are afraid of.  AND most importantly we are to TRUST that He will (and WANTS TO) HEAL us when things happen that cause pain!  By trusting that God is directing my life and also trusting in his healing abilities I can let go of the burden of feeling like I have to constantly protect MYSELF!  HOW FREEING IS THAT??!!

We cannot live our lives in fear!  Fear is RESTRICTING.  Fear holds us back from our potential, the potential that God instilled in ALL of us to further His Kingdom and to live lives pleasing to Him!

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7

Power. Love. Self Discipline.

Father God,

I just want to thank you for always being ever so patient with me on this journey.  I want to thank you for protecting your children!  God I pray that you break the strongholds of fear in our lives and replace it with your love, your power, and self discipline.  I know that I can trust you completely to protect me, and that even if I do get hurt along the way you are ALWAYS there to bring a healing to my heart.  I love you the most and I love that you love me back.

In Jesus Name

Amen.

Be a blessing out in this world this week loves, a beautiful light in the darkness.  God loves each and every one of you!  ❤

Leave a Reply

