Uncategorized

The ‘Thinking’ Gift

I…am a thinker. Wait a second, that isn’t a whole truth at all….I am an OVER-thinker, and I don’t even really feel like that is intense enough a ‘word’ for how intently I turn things over in my head on the daily. This is actually something you’ll see a LOT in the people around you, especially women, if you pay attention. At times it can be burden-some, overwhelming, and the most discouraging. You turn things over and over and over until your head is achy and you’ve created a problem (or two or three) that was (were) never even there in the first place.

My hope in writing this little section today is that people who struggle with overwhelming thoughts will know that they aren’t the only ones, and that there’s HOPE and ENCOURAGEMENT and RELEASE from it all.

God created my mind, he created yours too. He knew that I’d be a thinker. He knew I’d be the most curious and desire the answers to everything. I used to absolutely HATE that my mind works the way it does. Ask anyone, it’s exhausting! It’s frustrating. It’s distracting.

IF YOU LET IT BE. I let myself only see the negative things about being a ‘thinker’. I let my over-active mind analyze and dwell on things that are discouraging, that are in the past and that can’t be changed. In short, I find myself using my ‘thinking’ GIFT to constantly feed negative thoughts and feelings. Yes, I just called it a GIFT because that’s really how I think of it now. I’ll be completely honest, I still am not at a place where I ALWAYS think of it as a gift, but that just makes me human. Beautifully flawed, destined to not be perfect in this life. God knows we get frustrated at times but the key is to not let that frustration control you and not to let your GIFTS be used in negative ways.

All those people who always talk about how powerful the mind is ain’t kiddin’, not even a bit. You don’t believe me, do your own research. (sidenote: I HIGHLY encourage you to do your own research when you read ANYTHING. I’m not saying to distrust everything you see but you shouldn’t exactly take everything you see as truth just cuz so-and-so said it is.)

Guess who understands how powerful the mind is? The Devil, Satan, the master of darkness and fear. He knows exactly how to get inside your head and he takes any little chance you give him to plant a negative seed inside your mind. That evil little seed takes many forms as your thoughts circle around it. If we feed it, it grows. (Seriously, negativity is the fastest growing weed out there. Symbolically speaking of course, don’t ask your Gardener friends about that one..) Feeding it is the worst thing we can do. Sadly, many times we don’t realize we’re even doing it, but when it grows you can feel it. Not just in your head but out of your head too. Our thoughts drive us to action, and think about it, if we are having negative thoughts that’s gonna drive us to negative actions, negative feelings. If we fill our minds with negative things, guess what’s the first direction our thoughts are gonna go when something happens? We’re gonna think about all those bad things and bad outcomes and then the discouragement will come. Discouragement is NOT pretty, nor does it feel nice.

But You know who else knows how powerful the mind is? JESUS, GOD, our BLESSED REDEEMER, SAVIOR OF THE WORLD.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” -Philippians 4:8

Why is it so important to think on these things? Because your thoughts are so powerful! When you think on lovely things, when you think on things that are pure you are working to transform your mind to be like Christ. This my friends, is the path to Joy. How can we be joyful if we are constantly thinking the worst about others and ourselves, the worst about situations we encounter, dwelling on past things that are over and done with?

I won’t lie to ya, it’s hard. It’s really, really, really hard to transform your mind, to control those thoughts that you’ve let control you for so long. I can attest to that with my everything that it is a daily struggle, but I also can say this: God is stronger than all of it. He is more powerful than all of your negative thoughts that are weighing down on you and discouraging you. All you have to do is ask for him to strengthen you, and have full faith that he will and that he WANTS to.

“The JOY of the Lord is my strength!” -Nehemiah 8:10

“The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.” -Psalm 28:7

I want to encourage all of you in whatever struggle you may be inside of right now to simply ask God to strengthen you. He is the most powerful and he just wants to love you and fill you with un-measurable joy and peace.

IMG_5945 (2)ā¤ kim

BTW: I have already re-read this post 5 times and have changed something(s) every time I’ve looked at it. I could read it 1800 more times and find something to change every time. Welcome to my brain everyone šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The ‘Thinking’ Gift

  1. I absolutely love this. This is what I pretty much write about a lot. I struggled with depression and negative thinking for years. It was one of the most difficult things I have struggled with. I felt helpless. Satan really had a foothold in my life with my mind. I had no idea how powerful the mind was and how powerful positive thinking was. It took me forever to retrain my mind, with God’s help. But I have done it and I am now so passionate about encouraging people to do so as well because I realize how bad the struggle is. So many people struggle with negative thinking. It just seems to be the way of life anymore. But prayer, God’s word, and positive thinking is POWERFUL…

    1. I am so sorry to hear you struggled but so happy that you held onto Jesus and you’re using your experience to help and encourage others! That’s so awesome and one of the reasons we should look at trials as blessings. It might be hard in the midst but what we learn during, how we use what we learn to grow stronger in our faith and to encourage others is so much bigger than all that! I love your passion and God will bless you for your encouraging words šŸ™‚
      Have a great week!

      1. I’m not sorry anymore about the struggle. It really did grow me and strengthen me in ways that I couldn’t of ever imagined at the time. God used it for good and I am a better person for it so I wouldn’t change a thing. Thank you for the encouragement! I hope you have a great week as well!

Leave a Reply

